Display Result » DS11

POLICY DS11 - Rural Settlements

Development to meet local needs arising from within the rural areas will be directed to the settlements identified by Policies DS11 and DS12 and in accordance with the hierarchy established by those and other policies in the Local Plan.

The hierarchy established by Policies DS11 and DS12 reflects the sustainability credentials of the District’s rural settlements and, not withstanding local housing needs for affordable housing, new development will be directed to Category 1 and then Category 2 settlements.

For the purposes of the Local Plan Category 1 settlements are:

Clifton upon Teme
Great Witley
Hanley Swan
Leigh Sinton
Lower Broadheath

For the purposes of the Local Plan Category 2 Settlements are:

Abberley Common
Callow End
Clows Top
Hanley Castle
Holt Heath

View this result in context

Disclaimer: The Proposal Map (including the inset maps) has been produced using the Council's Geographical Information System. The Proposal Map (including the inset maps) represented in the electronic version of the Local Plan is not to scale and should not be interpreted other than at the published scale nor be used for the purposes of measurement. The colours and symbols used may not be an exact interpretation of the published printed version of the Local Plan. In general the printed Local Plan maps take precedence. With respect to Conservation Areas however the printed version may include an inaccurate boundary, as since the adoption of the Local Plan, some Conservation Areas have been reviewed and amended. In theses cases the electronic version should be the correct one. To confirm, please check with the Conservation Officer. The Ordnance Survey mapping included within this web site is provided by Malvern Hills District Council under licence from the Ordnance Survey (0100018590)(2009) in order to fulfill its public function to publicise the Local Plan as the Local Planning Authority.